Ross Point Cottage -  Reviews 1997 to 2010

 

These reviews were written by guests of the cottage over the last few years. For privacy reasons we have omitted guest names and their names are denoted by *****

 

 

*         19 July to 26 July 1997See Original Review

 

We found the cottage to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed the use of the beach at low tide. Plenty of bird life to hand, including: swallows oystercatchers etc. Some rare flora too. St. Dabeoc’s Reath, only found in Connemara is on the left hand verge of the track up from the cottage to the main road. Carry on round the road to the next bay - Sheltered and sandy with lovely island views. We enjoyed the peat fires most evenings with twigs and paper to get it started initially! Plenty of boats to spy on the water too. We visited Anchnanure Castle west of Oughterard - but it was closed due to wasps!! Pleasant drive back on the R344 at Recess takes hi some superb scenery. A visit to Kylemore Abbey is worth it - just to marvel at the Victorian style of living. The restaurant is to be recommended there - although busy at lunchtime, queues!! We counted 10 buses at 2 p.m. the day we were there. Road flooded at bridge before Kylemore - after particularly heavy rain the previous night. Waterfalls coming down the cliffs behind the abbey made quite a dim! Took the road by Claddaghduff one day. If better weather we might have wandered near Omey Island at low tide. Took an afternoon at Connemara National Park (5.00 entry fee as at Kylemore and Oceans Alive for 2 adults and 2 children) nice to wander up tracks for some lovely views, learn about peat landscape and watch the excellent audio visual. Our 7 yr. old enjoyed the “Art in the Park” where for 2 hours 5+ yrs. were entertained collecting for and making a mobile. Best trip for a scenic beauty - Renvyle direction and onto Cashleen. A total panorama - most enjoyable - the beach at Renvyle looked great. All in all a superb relaxing cottage. We cooked our meals every night and had picnics. Acton’s - shop/post office at Moyard, (3 miles approx. from cottage) open 9.00 a.m. - 6.30 p.m. catered for all we needed. Clifden has butchers and more supermarkets if you need to stock up. * * * *

 

 

 

*         15 to 29 May 1998

 

After 10 days of extensive driving (England, Scotland) a wonderful place to relax, with a superb panorama, the mountains of Connemara at your feet. Fine sunny days, very warm for May, days at the beach (with sunburns being the main problem !!), long walks on lonely roads, rocky coasts and sandy beaches, climbing Errisbeg with the baby on daddy’s back, walks in Glen???? (near Leenane), visiting Kylemore Abbey, pulling in for a cup of tea at our honeymoon location (Ballinahinch Castle Hotel), enjoying the hundreds of rhododendrons in full bloom having a pint here and there … lots more to tell

At the end of those perfect days – returning to a nice and charming cottage at an unbeatable location, looking for shells at the beach, finding sheep skulls, watching the boats passing, wonderful sunsets over the sea, relaxing evenings at the peat fire after having had a superb dinner (salmon, monkfish, prawns etc.)

Sorry we have to leave.

Hope to come back.

* * *(5) and * (11 months)

 

 

*         29th May to 6th June 1998See Original Review

 

Never stayed anywhere where I’ve had less inclination to go off and look around. Writing this sat on rocks near cottage – water is totally clear, pity it’s not a bit warmer. Nearly always two or more oystercatchers on this beach, and two ringed plouers at the far end of the beautiful sandy Ross beach. Clambering back over the rocks one evening with the tide out! (Not for the young or less agile) we realised there were five dolphins swimming along – they went out far out in the middle of the water. Next morning carrying a chair around to the front door to have breakfast, heard and saw a flipper out of the corner of my ear/eye. The dolphins had swam right by the house. Saw 3 briefly then, but not again. There are also birds diving and squabbling near to house.

 

Love the view of the mountains over the sea from the front of the house. House is great – bright warm and comfortable – and we enjoyed the fires some evening, but felt we had to limit our burning up of such a renewable precious resource i.e. the peat bog. Had a great walk up and down a mountain in Connemara National Park – Beware, find your car keys before you go back to the car park if midges are out! Had a brilliant day at Inishbofin (£10 per adult, children go free, sometimes, most times) Take sandwiches and bikes if you’ve got them with you and the ferry will take them – otherwise £5 per bike hire. The horse riding at Erislannan Manor (near Clifden) is expensive but good Connemara Ponies who take you right out to the headland. The drive around to Renvyle & past Renvyle to Killary Harbour is beautiful, and there are many beautiful sandy coves & beaches too make pleasant stops at. Think the location of this cottage is paradise, will be back sooner or later.

* * (10 years)

 

 

*         20 of June to 27 June 1998See Original Review

 

Dear Family O’Toole, thank you for staying at the most beautiful cottage in Connemara. Hope to see you once again

* (70), * (40), * (37) * (5), * (2)

 

 

*         4 July to 18  July 1998

 

Tres agreable sejour dans une maison avec une me magnifique. Belle promenades dans le Connemara Nous renendions! 

* * * * * & *  (15 months) from France (Paris)

 

 

*         August 6 1998See Original Review

 

Our second visit to Ireland “the Emerald Isle”

 

We had a great time and love the “Ross Point Cottage”. The fishing could have been a bit better but we did catch a few mackerel and Pollock. We found some cockles on the Ross Point beach and enjoyed them last night. They were delicious steamed and dipped in garlic butter. Ireland and especially the Irish people have been great. We have enjoyed our Irish experience and hope to return one day soon.

*

 

What a wonderful two weeks! It is great that grandparents get to spend two weeks with their grandchildren in such a beautiful, restful atmosphere. We love the water, sightseeing, beach and the solitude and natural beauty of Ross Point. Our accommodations were certainly adequate and more than anticipated. We will remember this vacation for a lifetime!

*

* & * from Portland, Oregon U.S.A.

 

 

*         22 August to 29 August 1998See Original Review

 

We have been coming to Connemara for several years but was our first time in the summer and we have been rewarded with a week of mainly warm weather. The cottage has been peaceful and its position on Ross Point was a bonus. The children have enjoyed the beach but we chickened out of going swimming. Saw several groups of dolphins in the bay.

 

Trip to Inishbofin is well worthwhile from Cleggan pier if a little expensive (£12 per adult return) with the best view of the Twelve Bens. Westport House and Children’s Zoo a good day out but only open in the summer season. Best beaches at Glasslaun, on the Renvyle Peninsula and Dog’s Bay Roundstone, interesting shells and coral beach at Ballyconneely. Great scenery in Renvyle, Leenane, Inagh Valley, avoid south coast near Galway. Good fish and chip shop in Cleggan, Derryclare restaurant in Clifden good but expensive.

*, *, * (7). * (4) & * (1) * of Dorking, Surrey, England

 

 

*         19 September 1998See Original Review

 

6 of the * family – we have camped here for the past 31 summers – and this time had a roof over out heads. The first day saw a severe easterly gale which defiantly would have blown out tents away

 

Good fishing – 32 off the shore! One evening the mackerel chased the sprats in. Lovely sunsets – good walking – if a little foggy

 

We’ll be back again next year.

Thanks to Patrick & Mary & the boys

* & *, Wales

 

 

*         19 September to 3 October 1998See Original Review

 

What a fantastic 2 weeks we have had- glorious sunny weather - didn’t get wet once – with the exception of a swim- Wonderful location – we have walked the coast, the hills lazed and relaxed. We shall be returning

Many thanks to Patrick for his warm welcome

 

* & *

* & *

*

 

 

*         Easter 1999See Original Review

 

The location is wonderful, the weather could have been better but we came here to relax and energise. We all three have worked hard on various projects but have also enjoyed meeting up with old friends. We will all go back to England ready to take on ‘A’ levels and Mock exams. All the better for our stay in Connemara. (piece missing) ?? Excuse the grammar. Only ?? Have just had to walk back from ?? After a wonderful evening because our car got stuck in the bog outside of their houses. We didn’t like to disturb them this evening but will retrieve the car in the morning. Still it will be something to smile about in the future. Look forward to returning in the near future.

 

P.S. I hope Patrick will be passing by in his tractor to help pull our car out of the bog.

*, * (17) * (16)

 

 

*         29 May to 5 June 1999See Original Review

 

 

Heaven here on earth! What a wonderful restful place this is. Our children * (7) and * (5) have played happily for hours finding shells and all sorts of wildlife. It’s so lovely round the cottage that the temptation is never to leave to see anything else that may be around. We have visited Inishbofin, Ocean Life and Kylemore Abbey the first and last defiantly worth a visit. Our thanks to Patrick and Mary for making us feel welcome and for their kindness. We hope to meet again sooner rather than later.

*

 

Till we meet again, may your troubles be few, your life be full and bountiful, and your health never be a day of gloom.

 

God bless you both,

*, *, * & *

Crawley, W. Sussex, England

 

 

*         05 June to 12 June 1999See Original Review

 

AustriaSee original review

 

 

*         13 June to 25 June 1999See Original Review

 

We came from Switzerland to this place, which we imagined would be to our taste. Our expectations have been surpassed. The weather alone was a great spectacle, changing within hours. The view was out of this world – in four words: never a dull moment.

 

We had been touring practically the whole of Connemara; a wonderful country with wonderful people with a great sense of humour. What does one wish more from a holiday

 

We wish the O’Toole’s a great success with this lovely cottage, -anyhow if we return (I guess soon again) to Ireland, we will come to this place again!

 

* * * *

 

*         17 July to 31 July 1999See Original Review

 

Wonderful stay in a wonderful land. May the peace stay with you all.

 

* * * * & *

 

 

*         31 July to 7 August 1999See Original Review

 

The house is beautifully located, we enjoyed the beach every night, couldn’t get the children out of the water at all. They spend hours exploring around finding all sorts of things like sheep skulls, bones, crab claws, little seashells – empty ones and ones filled with cockles and muscles

 

We brought my Mom from Germany over here – it was a surprise holiday for her and by God did she enjoy it! We loved to watch the weather to change very quickly indeed, the surrounding mountains are magnificent and one can see for miles and miles. The weather also was great although we had a little rain from time to time, it never stayed too long.

 

We enjoyed Patrick’s fresh caught mackerels one night, they were absolutely delicious. Thank you Patrick for your warm welcome and your hospitality! We never met his wife but we would like to thank her too for having the house so nice and clean, you could cook what you wanted and had all the utensils. Thank you! We enjoyed our stay very much and enjoyed the open fire with the turf every night.

 

The National Park in Letterfrack was beautiful, we nearly done the three trails, scenery is break taking, especially Diamond hill, went to Cleggan one day – but did not go over to Inishbofin Island due to bad weather that day. Ocean’s Alive in Derryinver is a must for kids and we took the boat trip on the Queen of Connemara last night to end our lovely time in Connemara. Thanks to Capt. John and Kenneth onboard who explained so many things. Our kids were allowed to steer the boat for a while, it will be a lovely memory for them

 

We went to see Kylemore Abbey on a slightly rainy day – it’s a must! It is absolutely beautiful there, lovely lake and trees and shrubs and flowers. We can only recommend the restaurant there, especially Sister Ita’s sultana scones and homemade jam! I even bought a cookery book with all the lovely recipes

 

We enjoyed to watch Patrick one day to gather his flock of sheep – he had prepared the dip for them. Although his sheep dog was ever so busy, he failed at times to bark where it was needed, so Patrick stepped in!

 

All in all it was a lovely holiday and we hope to return one day to this beautiful place of tranquillity and peace.

 

Thanks again to Patrick and his wife! Continued success with your holiday home.

 

From: * * * * & *, Clones, Co. Monaghan, Ireland

 

And: *, Heiseds, Germany

Xxxx xxxx

 

 

*         22 July to 5 August 2000See Original Review

 

Arrived on Saturday to clear blue skies and the temperature in the 80’s!! After numerous holidays in this beautiful country we can’t believe our luck in finding Ross Point Cottage. Dad has fishing in the back garden, the children have their own beach and paddy is free to roam (no lead!!)

 

Sunday

Everyone out of bed at the crack  of dawn to clear blue skies and the temperature still in the high 70’s!! Explored our surroundings and spent the afternoon on the other beautiful white beach down the road (turn right out the end of the track) the views are unbelievable.

 

Monday

Spent all day in the water at the beach below the cottage, snorkelling paddling the rubber dinghy, even Paddy has taken to swimming. Evening spent fishing of the rocks, magnificent sunset with the Twelve Bens capped with clouds coloured all shades of violet through to pink

 

Tuesday

Well the blue sky has deserted us for the moment but it is still warm and dry, the sea was absolutely flat calm this morning, explored around the coast road to Cleggan and Claddaghduff to stock up on supplies, stopped at a shop specialising in Irish Woollen on the N59 on the way home. Tuesday evening the sea is again flat calm, Patrick knocks on the door @8.00pm to go fishing in the currach. Karin, Sarah and Dad set off down the bay with two sets of oars (different to oars I’ve seen before!!) Dad is put into number 2 position to provide propulsion. Much mirth from the children, Patrick makes it look effortless, by the time we are opposite the house Dad is rather red in the face and not sure he is assisting the passage!! Two hastily assembled rods are trawled over the back with no luck for the first hour. Patrick heads for a known spot and bingo Sarah hooks a sizeable Pollock. It was alright catching it but dispatching it in the boat was not entirely to her liking!! We row on down to Freaghillaun South Island without anymore fish Patrick explaining Salmon Farming and how the sheep get onto the island. We did wonder how the bottom of the boat had the odd sheep dropping. Apparently they are transported to and from the island in the “currach” 12 or 15 at a time!! I had this magnificent vision of 12 or 15 sheep all sat in the back of the boat with Patrick at the oars. He did explain you have to tie their legs together first!! We turn around and head up Tully Mountain shoreline, Patrick spots fish jumping out of the water and rows into the middle of the shoal. All of a sudden pandemonium there are fish on the lines all at once!! The girls are squealing and we are trying to get fish of the hooks as quickly as possible. The bottom of the boat is alive with flapping fish! We follow the shoal; a competition has now developed between Sarah and Patrick as to who is catching the most!! By the time we are done darkness has descended and Karin is a little concerned as how we can find the way home!! The lights from Ross Cottage are the direction and we strike for home. Dad is still coming to terms with the oars and our direction is a bit haphazard! We round the point at a respectable distance and come ashore onto the beach next to the boat trailer. Paddy is down to great us as with mum they are a “little concerned” at us being out in the dark. The evening spoils are divided out on the beach, the tangle of tackle to be sorted in the morning!! “What an adventure”!!

 

Wednesday

The flat calm has gone, with occasional light rain. Dad eventually gets down to the boat to sort the tackle but Patrick obviously gets up early and all is sorted. Karin & Sarah just make it out of bed to go horse riding in Cleggan. Dad needs the day to recover from his rowing. It reminds him of what it was probably like on a Roman Galley.

 

Thursday

Weather improved spent the day around the cottage and the beach. Still no success fishing from the rocks other than a “tiddler”.

 

Friday

Irish weather, a beautiful cloudless sky @ 8.00 am which had disappeared by 9.30. Went to Clifden to restock have a muse, had a nice lunch in a small restaurant. Spent the evening on the beach @ low tide chasing worms and razor fish!!

 

Saturday

How the week has flown. Weather is bright and sunny spent all morning in the sea and on the beach playing cricket. Decided to explore some more Friday afternoon. Went to Ocean’s Alive which was closed, so carried along the road at the foot of Tully Mountain (opposite the cottage). Leave your car as soon as you can and walk. Look for the donkey, the sheep will find you!! Superb views both westward and back towards the Bens. Back at Ross Point for tea, BBQ brought out and ate in the garden. The fire has been well used every night and goes first time now!!

 

Sunday

Weather forecast not good but bright all morning. Still foraging the beach at low tide, have managed to ? a few razor fish, an ? and plenty of worms for fishing. There are a few cockles but too small to take. The razor fish are amazing, if you go and stand at low tide (better in the evening) keeping quite still the spectacle of little water pistals all around is quite amazing.

 

Monday

Our first full “Irish mist”. Decided to explore south of Clifden, as far as Ballyconneely. Stop at either of the two parking spots along Mannin Bay before you get to Ballyconneely, to search for splendid shells, hermit crabs and more. Stopped at McWilliams coffee shop for lunch, absolutely first class, recommend the fresh crab and toasted sandwiches and very reasonable too. Turned right just out of Ballyconneely down towards Connemara Golf Club, pull off on the left before the entrance to beautiful and horse riding.

 

Tuesday

Dull overcast promise of heavy rain. Packed the car and headed for Achill Island. The drive up the N59 through Leenane is spectacular. Westport very busy and Achill Island has changed a lot since our last visit. Stopped in Leenane on the way home for some tea, plenty of establishments to choose from. Arrived home at 9.00 to see mackerel shoaling of the rocks. In all the excitement? landed!!!

 

Wednesday

The sun is back, we spent all morning on the beachcombing the low water mark and playing with the Pat & bak. The clouds return so we took off to Clifden to do some shopping and replenish the fishing tackle. The mackerel returned at high tide this evening on the beach. Managed to have 4 out but one had to be returned after pleading from Eileen! Back in to the turf fire and the obligatory card game.

 

Thursday

A bit misty but the promise of better things to come. Visited Ocean’s Alive for an hour interesting but a bit sparse of marine life!! Called in the craft shop on the way home, the best we’ve seen. Had a tennis tournament on the beach and scoured the low water mark. The seal has been a regular visitor and tonight seems to have removed all the fish stocks!

 

Friday

Dry but overcast. Went back to McWilliams coffee shop in Ballyconneely, well worth the visit. Come back towards Clifden stop at the first parking place to resume our shell and coral collection. Last minute shopping in Clifden and back home to the beach. Everyone is a bit subdued as it is our last evening one final fish, no luck, sat around the fire playing cards till late.

 

Saturday

Well the Irish mist is truly down. Makes the thought of leaving a little easier!

 

We have all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and have totally relaxed. We will defiantly be back next year as we haven’t begun to explore the surroundings.

 

Many thanks to Patrick & his wife, Mary. Patrick the night time mackerel fishing in the currach will be a “never to be forgotten experience

 

Till we meet again

 

* (Dad), * (Mum), * (14), * (12), * (2) and Paddy “the West Highland puppy” (5 actually) * & * & Family

 

I really enjoyed this holiday it has been the best we’ve had in Ireland so far. The beach is lovely and the water is crystal clear. The scenic beauty of this place is fantastic. The boat trip with Patrick was a great experience. The peat fire is lovely and warm at night when it gets colder. Fortunately the weather has been good to us and have enjoyed many a day on the beach. Clifden is a nice little village (well town) with nice craft shops! All in all this holiday has been fantastic and we hope to be back next year.

 

* (14)  2000

 

I also really enjoyed this holiday I also think it’s the best holiday we’ve ever had in Ireland last year we had ‘Irish mist’ for 2 weeks! But the fishing trip was the best.

 

* (12) Aug 5th 2000 11:20

 

 

*         August 19, 2000See Original Review

 

5 of the * family. * * * * and *. Our 22nd summer here at Ross! Another wonderful peaceful holiday. Again thanks to Patrick, Mary & the boys.

 

Take care and best wishes

 

Till we meet again

 

* & *

 

 

*         20 August to 26 August 2000See Original Review

 

After 4 hours flight from Malta and a six hour drive from Dublin we did not find Ross Cottage. When Patrick led the way to the cottage, we thought we were going where the devil left his shoe. But the following morning when we started the day, fresh after a night’s sleep, we realised we were wrong. The cottage is situated in an unbeatable spot with panoramic views. We roamed around the area of Galway County and as far to Moher Cliffs. The kids enjoyed mostly running on the beach, playing in the lawn in front of the cottage and most of all thank Patrick for the two boat trips out there in the lake

 

All in all we had a great time and fun and we thank God for this unforgettable experience.

 

* & *, * (5 years)

* & *, * (4 years) & * (3 years)

* & *, * (8 yrs)  * (6 yrs) * (3 yrs)

 

 

*         26 August to 1 September 2000See Original Review

 

Well what can I say? Our first thoughts were: we’re in the middle of no where but we soon learnt that Cleggan & Clifden were close by and they are both lovely towns. The horse riding in Cleggan was good and so was the boat trip we took on the sea in front of the cottage, although my face was a bit green afterwards!

 

* & * & * (14), & * (13)

 

In the end I think we can all say that we had an enjoyable time here and thank God for all the good weather we’ve had!

 

* and *

 

Superb location, very peaceful/restful

Recommend: fishing from the rocks - mackerel, trip to Inishbofin, Oliver’s in Cleggan for a meal, also good fish and chip shop. Ocean’s Alive interesting but doesn’t take long to see, live exhibits few and far between, take the boat trip as well

 

Initialled

 

 

*         27 September 2000See Original Review

 

Off to Knock now – Tssk Tssk.

2 weeks of laziness & being hypnotised by the ever-changing Tully Mountain and the Pins. 5 packs of dolphins yesterday – Patrick was right they do bring bad weather – its blowing a small gale and pissing down this morning.

A few brown trout and no salmon – but who cares, only an Englishman would nurse notions of September salmon here! The mackerel and the Pollock compensated and John M. as norm as ever and entertaining.

Final week regularly punctuated by dolphins, sometimes close to the point here; high tide, low tide, unpredictable and frequently close to the miner salmon cages.

See you all again soon

 

Initialled

 

 

*         June 30, 2001See Original Review

 

Some people have to travel their whole lives to find a place like Ross Point Cottage… a bit of heaven isn’t it? And a surprise too (after approaching along the two side roads) a wonderful week here, struggling to leave and explore the area each day and really just wanting to stay… and of course never leave.


Some highlights for later visitors:

  1. The walk to Omey Island at low tide…follow to the right to Clifden but don’t miss the little marsh that is at the end of the grassy road on your left – flowers, birds and lily pads in abundance.  A Guinness at the Claddaghduff pub (of course) then a drive to the point beyond Claddaghduff (Barr an Roisin?).  Interesting pools! “near Aughrus beg” (lake)
  2. Golf at Connemara Golf Club – Well, it’s an interesting time when you have to find the course amidst the rough.  True adventure (in the pouring rain of course) – you can’t see most of the flags from the tee spots?! (Chicken and Chips for 3.50 at the clubhouse was plain but lovely)
  3. Oliver’s Restaurant at Cleggan is a delight.  Cosy, familiar and more neighbourly than busier Clifden.  The shop is well stocked and priced too.

Many thanks to the O’Toole Family for a great, world-class day in their Ross Point home.  We’ll be back.

 * and * Canada (Calgary area)

 

p.s Patrick remember my tip about a down vest in jacket for the Connemara winter – we Canadians know our cold.

 

 

*        21 July to 4 August 2001 See Original Review

 

We returned as promised after spending the previous week on Achill Island. The new addition Luke (9 weeks) has thoroughly enjoyed himself as we all have. We brought a boat this year and have had great fun exploring and fishing mackerel off the rocks in front of the house and there is lots and lots of marine life compared to last year. The turf fire and cards are still the obligatory ending to the day. We still leave feeling we haven’t seen enough and intend to return again to this corner of heaven!

 

Till next year

 

 * * * * * *

 

Well we came back again! This holiday has been great. The weather wasn’t that good this time but it didn’t stop us, to be fair it was never cold, it was incredibly mild even on the wettest day!! We went snorkelling around the point today and saw a variety of sea life. We went to Clifden and up to Ballyconneely on the wet days. Clifden has changed since last year, its much more ‘touristy’ now!! We had some lovely sunny days and spent them all on the beach in front. Dad brought his boat this year so we explored a bit more. We had few attempts at fishing from the boat and came away with one mackerel and a small sand eel. Dad needs more practice!! We hope to be back next year; I also had a great time drinkin ice cold lemonade

Thanks,

* (15)

 

It was to return 4 another year, the weather wasn’t great but that hasn’t really spoilt it. We have been for a few trips on dad’s boat and got a bit wet!!

Hope to return again next year

* (13)

 

P.s. I had a great time on my own on the beach drinking lashings of ginger beer and jam and scones!!

*

 

 

*         August 18, 2001See Original Review

 

Another wonderful holiday at Ross for the * family and again thanks to Patrick and Mary. We look forward to meeting again next year.

 

* & * and the family. 

 

 

*         October 2001See Original Review

 

Sean and I got up early and went out to the beach and picked 10 mussels and 25 mullet. Then we built a pool that we are going to finish.

 

 

*         3 October, 2001See Original Review

 

Lovely holiday, we could not believe the views. What a fabulous place the weather wasn’t so good but that did not spoil anything. The first day we went walking over the hills didn’t realise how unfit we were. The second day we went travelling around up to Kylemore abbey and Letterfrack well recommended. Well it’s 11 o’ clock on the fifth of October and we are getting ready to leave, but we will be back to this peaceful place and tranquil settings

Many thanks to Patrick & Family

 

* & * (Kilkenny) Ireland

 

 

*         20 October to 27 October 2001See Original Review

 

Back at Ross point for another enjoyable holiday. Weather has been dry most days with some sun – so much so that our eldest daughter swam in the sea around the cottage. No dolphins sighted this time but several seals. We’ve had an enjoyable time visiting beaches and generally relaxing.

We hope to be back again soon.

 

*, *, * (10), * (7) and * (4) * – , W. Sussex, UK

 

 

*         Easter weekend 2002See Original Review

 

* and * with * aged 5 and Cailin the dog. Had an enjoyable weekend. Weather was changeable. Mostly went for walks. Scenery is very beautiful. Very relaxing weekend

           

Relaxing weekend. Would come again.

 

 

*         July 20 to August 3 2002See Original Review

 

Back again! Another 2 glorious weeks of ‘away from it all’. Although the weather has been a bit mixed everyone has throughally enjoyed themselves. The fishing has been a bit slow but managed enough for tea 9just). Managed to launch the boat in between the force 5’s!!

Many thanks to Patrick will see you again

 

* * * * * *

 

 

*         August 2002See Original Review

 

Had another enjoyable day at Ross Point. Weather generally fine. Revisited a number of favourite places including Dog’s Bay, Glassilaun, Ballyconneely and Westport House. Climbed Tully Mountain – fantastic views up to the north of Mayo. Several dolphins in the bay.

Hope to be back again.

 

*, *, * (13), * (9) * (7)  –  West Sussex

 

 

*         August 3 to 10 August 2002See Original Review

 

Had a brilliant week, despite very mixed weather – did mange one swim (in coldest water ever!) This is such a beautiful place.

Worth a mention, because no-one has yet,

*         Roundstone, for anyone interested in music, where bodhran are made, is fascinating (Martin of course had to buy one, but whether he will ever master it is another matter)

*         Also along the way, beaches near Ballyconneely are gorgeous

*         Had some lovely lunches from the Connemara hamper in Clifden – cheeses and pates and beautiful bread.

*         We had some brilliant nights listening to some great Irish music in the bars in Clifden, well worth staying up for.

 

* & *  – West Yorkshire

 

 

*         10 August to 17 August 2002See Original Review

 

We’ve had a lovely week away from everything, in the middle of wonderful sunrises. Too bad the weather wasn’t nice: clouds, rain, mist, wind, rain, cloud just one sunny day out of 7!! We definitely have to come back to enjoy the fantastic views you can get from the cottage.

Thank you for the warm welcome of Patrick and his wife.

* * * * * *  from England and Belgium

 

Nice week during which we could enjoy the typical Irish landscape and weather (!) Thanks for the welcome given by Patrick and his wife.

*

 

I fell in love with Ireland… Wonderful x x x

*

 

I’m sure I’ll be back in Ireland one day

*

 

 

Guinness… almost as Belgian beer!

 

 

*         23 April to May 03 2003See Original Review

 

We fell in love with the cottage on our first visit last May, in spite of gales and rain five days out of seven. This year we arrived in hot sunshine, and the bay was Mediterranean blue. Apart from one day the sun has shone practically the whole time.

 

The setting is so idyllic that there’s no need to go far a field, except for shopping. There are good local walks with a lovely secluded and sheltered beach about half a mile to the right of the track which leads to the cottage. The dogs could run freely and thoroughly enjoyed swimming every day. There were dolphins in the bay on Monday.

 

Clifden has good supermarkets, butchers and greengrocers, and lots of specialist shops, but the shop ay Letterfrack is excellent, and a bit nearer.

 

There are boat trips around the bay at weekends from Sea Life at Letterfrack, and the boat goes up the fjord from Killary – not as interesting as you may think!

 

A day trip to Inishbofin from Cleggan is a good day out.

 

If you visit Omey Island across from Claddaghduff beware of the incoming tide. We nearly got stranded and had a very very wet car when we got back! The walks across the dunes and beaches there are superb.

 

An excellent place to eat is Panguer Ban in Letterfrack – imaginative menus, beautifully cooked, and a nice ambience. Rosleague Manor and Rose Cottage are also good though grander.

 

We’ve had a lovely peaceful few days, and we shall certainly be back.

 

*, Derbyshire, England

 

 

*         31 May to 14 June 2003See Original Review

 

This has been our first visit to Ireland, and after spending two weeks here we have decided that it certainly won’t be the last!

 

Unfortunately, the weather has not been too kind to us with a lot of rain and gales even the add thunderstorm. However, we didn’t come for the weather and made the most of the couple of sunny days we had.

 

This is the ideal setting to relax and forget about the usual day to day stresses of life. We spent quite a few days just wandering around and driving here and there. If its views you’re after the Sky Road has some amazing scenic spots. Another good road for views is if you follow the N59 to Letterfrack and once there turn left and keep bearing left. You will then end up on the road directly across the bay and can look back at the cottage which is a good photo opportunity (f you’ve got a decent zoom lens!)

 

If you carry on through Letterfrack you will come to Kylemore Abbey. This is well worth a visit with its Victorian Walled garden and Gothic Church.

 

The night life in Clifden is fantastic! The pubs and restaurants are busy every day of the week. We spent many an evening in EJ Kings which has live music every night from around 10pm. They also do a mean Irish stew or crab salad.

 

Two fabulous seafood restaurants are Mitchell’s and ‘Off the Square’. The food in both was cooked beautifully and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Mannion's also has live music from 10pm but is not as lively as EJ Kings.

 

To save driving into Clifden at night (and to facilitate Guinness consumption!) we used Chris O’Neil’s taxi service. He and his wife Pauline are very reliable, punctual to the second and extremely pleasant. They charged €25 for a return trip into Clifden which you pay on return. (His number is in the blue Visitor Guide).

 

Nobody can deny that this is a haven of tranquillity, and we shall defiantly some back. However we shall know next time not to bring the Mazda X5 (most unsuitable car possible, well done us!) and will bring a more sensible motor. Adrian has yet to recover from all the expensive noises that the terrain made on the underside of his car!

 

* & * (who can hear his local mechanic rubbing his hands in expectation…!)

 

 

*         12 July 2003See Original Review

 

Just leaving after another holiday in Ross. 4th in cottage and since 1968 with 4 boys and now grandchildren. See you next year Patrick.

 

* & * (camping)

 

 

*         23 August to 06 September 2003See Original Review

 

A marvellous stay in a marvellous site with enormous views to the sea and to the country! We were extremely lucky with the weather and very happy with the house. The seals showed only once – and seemed to be as happy as we did.

 

Jakob discovered a multi-function goal for his Football: the wall of the shed (with special ability to get the ball into the hole and to recover it by the middle of the three doors). Very good swimming with sand just down the path! Cold water – we do like this after this summer which heated even the Alps lakes…

 

Last but not least: Mary & Patrick are wonderful people! We certainly will come again!

 

* & * from Munich, Switzerland

 

(P.S. Next time your car repaired by Brian Walsh – very clever, very sympathetic!

 

 

*         09 October 2003See Original Review

 

We spent 5 lovely days here at Ross point. Living in the city in Switzerland, we liked the extreme calm of living in the cottage. The weather was sometimes rather wet and stormy, but who would expect otherwise? In fact, we didn’t much bother about it and did quite some fishing. We much liked the warm and friendly contact with Patrick and do seriously intend to come back one day.

 

* & * *(14), * (12), * (11), * (8)

 

 

*         26 October to 31 October 2003 See Original Review

 

A wonderfully relaxed trip – just as we had hoped. We arrived to calm, totally still bay and a clear sky-line view of Diamond Hill and the 12 Bens. We didn’t stray fro, apart from a day trip to Inishbofin and a wander on the Renvyle Peninsula opposite. We ate in at night in front of the roaring peat fire, and the sound of the wind in the chimney as the weather became wilder during the week. Wonderful – a unique place and certainty to return as soon as the cows allow…

 

*  + * (& Nollaig the dog)

North Shropshire, England

 

 

*         July 18 to July 24 2004See Original Review

 

*, & * *, * & * from Belgium

 

 

*         12 July 2004See Original Review

 

Another holiday at Ross much enjoyed by all of the * family and dogs. Thanks to Patrick, Mary and the boys and we look forward to seeing you all next year.

All best wishes

 

* & *

 

 

*         04 September to 14 September 2004 See Original Review

 

Swimming in the sea + barbeques on the beach for the first week, then the mist rolled in for the last few days – but then it’s Ireland what do you expect? Didn’t leave the cottage for the first week except to stock up on the gin. Doggie heaven, + not bad for humans either. Well worth the 24 hors it took us to get here, hope to be back some time.

 

* * * * * *, Ella dog musket dog + finn dog from Oxfordshire…

 

Another wonderful holiday in Moyard. The weather was wonderful for the first week and the only reason we went out was to Newman’s Bar past 11.00pm..till 1.00am  - enjoyable country dancing at Joyce’s on Friday as well….. We know we will return. We love it here

 

With the above ‘ Vicki what can I say. I wish I could stay forever don’t want to go home. Don’t know how I’m going to get back into the routine of going out before 11! Even though I had an adventure getting here I’ve had a wonderful time as usual and I will be back next year I love everyone. Bernie, Rich, Val, Anne and the tasty Irishman who could sing but I didn’t approach even though he was looking at me all night maybe tonight!!

X x Vicki x x (Leicester, UK)

 

& with the above came uncle Dave aged 77 who had a great experience in Ireland as well

Thank you from us all –

 

 

*        14 September to 24 September 2004 See Original Review

 

Arrived to bright sunshine and strong winds, which gradually increased during the first week. The pattern was to walk in nice sunny spells in the morning, before it rained in the afternoon, then to shop or whatever, and get back to the cottage in time for tea.Sunday was horrendous – very wet with a force 8 gale. We walked o-Dog’s Bay and got thoroughly soaked. The second week was better. Heavy mist over the mountains. We found two excellent beaches on the Renvyle Peninsula - Glassilaun and the white strand – perfect for long walk on the sand and rock scrambling. We couldn’t go on the boat because of the gales but never mind there’s always next year! We ate well and enjoyed the local pubs. Pangur Ban was as good as ever and the butcher in Letterfrack provided us with really good meat.

We shall certainly return for a fourth visit. The cottage is set in such an idyllic location that it couldn’t be bettered, and the dogs had a wonderful time just roaming the beach and the headland.

Thanks to Patrick and Mary for making us so welcome, as always.

 

Until next May

 

* & *, with dogs Gemma and Bridie

 

 

*         19 January to 05 February 2005 See Original Review

 

Hello there! We arrived in the darkness and were guided safety to the house under the guidance of our host. What a peaceful place – indeed. I think we rested for the first day (Sunday), enjoying the nature and the beach and the wind, which gave excellent thrust to the kite! It is always a great pleasure to see the sea. Monday was our travelling day. We took a look at the Aillwee cave and the cliffs of Moher. Remarkable places. The weather was changing all the time. Some rainy days but also quite warm, maybe 10 degrees or so. The country is very nice, peaceful. Even close to the cities, like Galway the traffic is bearable, especially if compared to that of UK! On Thursday we visited Clifden. A small nice town, and the one hilarious moment was the realization of the fire station: we even saw one fire fighter truck in there! Yeah, On Wednesday we visited the Kylemore Abbey. The sight was breathtaking. Very nice location! Lucky them! Thursday was for Galway. It is an old beautiful Irish town (or city). Sadly Friday arrived so soon. We had booked a horse riding session (or two) which we started in the rain. It was just amazing (for me the first time). Very beautiful and gentle animals. (Oh, we were in Cleggan). I really recommend the place! What else can I say? The week is just too short for a place like this. Hopefully we can come back some day, who knows… I almost forgot: of course some cold pints of Guinness were needed! And the warmth of fire place.

 

Many thanks to our hosts and Cheers!

 

* * & * FINLAND

 

 

*        04 June to 11 June 2005 See Original Review

 

After a hectic 7 hour drive from Bray, Co. Wicklow we finally arrived in Moyard going around in circles trying to find the cottage! We gave up in the end and phoned Patrick who was more than happy to meet us and show us the right way! Wow! What a place – we have done all the corners of West Ireland but have saved the best till last – the scenery and way of life is totally unspoilt and beautiful. We had a few doubts about what two teenage boys could do but we needn’t have worried - they loved exploring the beach, catching crabs in the sea, playing football, even picking flowers whilst in the car going up and down the track! They didn’t really fancy going to Kylemore Abbey but mention of it being a girl’s school changed their minds! Kylemore is a peacefully beautiful place and well worth a look! (Needless to say, they didn’t see any girls!) We paid a visit to Bridget at the chipper in Letterfrack, 4 ¼ pounders, 2 chips and 4 cans came to a grand total of €13!

Ocean’s Alive was met with mixed reaction – an interesting place but we were unfortunate in not going on the boat trip (wrong time of year!) A trip to Inishbofin is a must and as in the boat trip through the Killary Fjord – the highlight of the week was the dolphins swimming with the cruiser – 5 of them showing off, just hope the photos do them justice! Driving on the Renvyle Peninsula is a little hair raising to say the least – very windy, very narrow and very near the edge in most places! Whilst in Leenane, visit the sheep and wool centre, the girl demonstrates the art of spinning and weaving in a light hearted way and has a brilliant sense of humour!

Spending a whole day on the beach here was great – clear seas, lots of rocks to climb and great sand to sunbathe even if it was a little misty! Oliver’s in Cleggan is fantastic for food, huge servings with fast efficient and friendly service! For those who like Chinese/Thai food try Jasmine’s Garden in Clifden – you will enjoy! For a huge range of gifts try the Cottage Crafts on the left as you’re going into Clifden, they have a small café, called ‘Beautiful View’ and you’ll see why when you go in, amazing!

A trip to the Alcock & Brown Memorial is only worthwhile if you go the long way round via Roundstone – stunning scenery and plenty of sheep!

All four of us have gotten something out of our stay here and will defiantly return, (maybe next year) but will come for 2 weeks to get even more out of the holiday!

 

Many thanks to Patrick for his kindness & patience see you soon!

 

* * & (15) & * (14)

 

 

*        25 June to 02 July 2005 See Original Review

 

Arrived at 11 o’clock still light, nice directions Patrick! Fantastic location, great beach. Did some windsurfing in the bay, some fishing off the rocks (didn’t catch anything, worse luck) been eating the muscles and cockles from the beach which have been nice. Enjoyed the sandy beach down the lane, great for swimming.

 

Went for a long walk up Croagh Patrick (3½ hours). Great views of small islands, still suffering 3 days later. Had a few nice meals down at Oliver’s, especially if you like seafood.

 

Caught the ferry to Inishbofin Island which was a little disappointing, not much there and didn’t see any whales, sharks or seals and it rained solidly.

 

Can also recommend ‘The Spice Restaurant’ in Clifden, great food and goods service. The bar opposite was lively and served good Guinness.

 

* * * * * (2½) and Maddy the dog

 

Winchester, England

 

 

*        23 July to 30 July 2005 See Original Review

 

Phil returning after a 30 yr + gap!! He camped with the * during two memorable summers. This time he brought (me) Cyndy and two of our four children, Cameran (7) and Tristan (18) our first visit to Ireland. The journey from Mid Wales via DublinConnemara was pretty wet and busy! Then the rain stopped – we have had a completely mist free, rain free week!! In fact some days have seen us basking in warm sunshine and swimming in the sea. Along with the compulsory football and any game you can think (of or make up) concerning a ball on the beach.

 

The highlights of our week. Just being here! The evenings. The glorious sunsets. The opening and shutting of the gates (‘Cameran!!) Exploring! Our sunny visit to Inishbofin < And the perfect sandy beach there where we ate our picnic (when you’re off the ferry – turn left at the harbour. Keep walking left ……… through the mountain gate. It’s really worth the walk – but too dangerous for swimming.

 

Phil’s verdict is that Ross point is still as stunning as the last two times her visited. We’ve had a really wonderful week here and will I’m sure return in the near future.

 

Thanks Patrick & Mary - for your warmth and hospitality. We have some wonderful memories to take home of our holiday at Ross Point.

 

* * * & *

 

Montgomery

Wales

 

 

*        30 July to 13 August 2005 See Original Review

 

Another holiday at Ross Point enjoyed by the * – including little * – aged 6 weeks – her first of many we hope, many visits to wonderful Connemara. Plenty of sunshine, plenty of fish and plenty of fun.

 

Thanks again, Patrick & Mary – We look forward to returning again next year.

 

* & *, Montgomery, Wales

 

 

*         11 March to 22 March 2006 See Original Review

This is my 10th year holidaying in Connemara and my husband’s 4th – we are both agreed that Ross Point Cottage must have the most beautiful views of any house in Connemara!

Many thanks for your hospitality Patrick.

* & * 

Northern Ireland

 

 

*         17 April to 22 April 2006 See Original Review

*         

This has been a fantastic holiday in a beautiful area. Connemara has everything – sea, mountains and even great weather!! There is something for everyone and we all had a great time. The mussels are just delicious!

We look forward to returning to this wonderful place.

Many thanks Patrick for your hospitality.

****&* Wilson

Belfast, Northern Ireland

 

Next review in French See Original Review

 

We have had an absolutely amazing time here. The beach and the rocks kept us happy every day and the colourful little villages like Clifden and Cleggan were also really cute. Thank you very much Patrick for an excellent week!

*(15), *(12) *(4)

 

See Original Review

For the six days that I stayed here it only felt like one because we had so much fun on the beaches and rocks and even in the lovely town nearby. I am only twelve but I think I will never see so beautiful views again unless I come back to the cottage.

It was an amazing stay and I was so sad to leave.

Benjy

 

 

*         24 June to July 1, 2006 See Original Review

 

We arrived with almost no mistakes in turns and without even calling Patrick – on our very first visit!! What peace and beauty  - we are thrilled!

Had a grand week – some rain but quite a bit of sun too. Enjoyed the peat fire, the sheep, the haying/round bale-making entertainment by Patrick, his boys and neighbour farmer but mostly the surrounding vistas of this special property. We are grateful to the O’Toole’s for sharing this with guests.

Hopefully we will be back in the near future  -

Thank you all

* & * *

Blue Hill, Maine, USA

 

 

8 July to July 22, 2006 See Original Review

Another great two sunny weeks. Many thanks from the * and the *. Good look and we hope you heifer recovers.

Best Wishes

**** &  dogs

 

 

 

22nd July – 29th July 2006

A large family gathering complete with caravan. First time for many but the * and * families settled in quickly. Weather very mixed but some great days fishing, sandcastle building and playing. Cleared up in an irish gale but a super week nevertheless. Cousin Ann & John to take over from us later on and we are looking forward to another get together soon.

*** & the rainy the dog who thought he was in heaven

 

 

29 July – 12 August 2006

The 46th year of the family holidays in Connemara for us and 40 years of marriage gave us the excuse for a big family and friends gathering – with members swelling to 23 at one stage! – Great weather, great fishing and a great time was had by all.

Thank you again Mary & Patrick

Ann & John – Montgomery, Wales

 

 

12th August to 26th August 2006

Well here we are yet again. (We were here last year but forgot forgot to write in the book!) Initially just the five of us Dad, Mum, Jessica, Luke and Paddy (the westie). Nana (83!) joined us with Sarah for the last 10 days having been persuaded to fly for the first time not bad at 83 eh! The weather has been the usual mixed bag but as we’ve found it doesn’t stop you doing things. Have fished, snorkelled, rowed the boat, collected crabs, cockles and mussels. Luke managed to catch himself with his crab line which required the services of the local doctor in Clifden!

            Caught plenty of mackerel which are superb cooked on the newly installed barbecue. Paddy has had a daily swim regardless of the weather. The scenery the ever changing moods of this place are magical it is a wonderful place to wind down and escape the pressures of our normal everyday life. The turf fire at the end of the day is just perfect.

            Patrick we will be watching out for you and ‘champ’ on one man and his dog!!

See you next year, Many thanks

*******

 

10th to 24 March 2007

Had a wonderful two weeks here, even when we had hail and snow for St. Patrick’s weekend – it was still stunning. This place is heaven, private beach and mountains all around, what more could you ask for!! I’ll be back.

Anne, Kildare, Ireland

 

 

21st to 24th March 2007

What a wonderful and magical place!! Just the ticket for unwinding and clearing the head. I’ve been to all sorts of places around the world but the shear beauty of this place with the ever changing views beat them all. It takes hold of your spirit and cleanses your soul. Walking up in the morning and the only sound you hear is the newborn lambs in the shed – beats the traffic and alarm clocks any day. The only thing left to say is thank you for letting others enjoy what is truly an unforgettable place. I will be back and that’s a promise!! J

Robbie F. – Cavan, Ireland

 

Easter April 2007

Our second time to spend Easter here - both times blessed with the weather. What can you say about this place, its just truly beautiful – peaceful. The availability of bikes a great addition – kept the kids occupied and the fishing rods – we didn’t catch anything – but nice to be able to use.

Sue, Joe, Robyn, Colm & Niamh, Dublin, Ireland

 

 

15th April to 29th April, 2007

We have spent two fantastic weeks here at Ross Point. We are about to head back to the hustle and bustle of Dublin with much regret. I think my wellies will have to surgically removed as I haven’t taken them off in two weeks. I have also failed to convince my husband to squat in a derelict cottage and live off the land!! But we definitely will be back. I am almost afraid to tell anyone as Ross Point Cottage is such a special place.

 

We were made very welcome by Paddy and the house was just great. Open fires of turf every night and a bath (we don’t have one!)

Here’s a few recommendations:

1. Glassilaun Beach – for long walks, picnics and sunsets. Head to Renvyle peninsula past Tullycross.

2. Collecting shells and coral on a beach just before town of Ballyconneely.

3. Connemara Loop – don’t miss the road around Lough Inagh beautiful

 

Just get in the car if you can tear yourself from the cottage. Around every corner the landscape opens up to astound you. I know when am stuck at my desk in work I know I will be longing to come back to Ross Point Cottage and the amazing views of Tully Mountain and the Twelve Bens. I hope you have a fantastic time and are as lucky with the weather as we were – Very sad to leave but look forward to coming back soon.

 

Lorraine and Mac J

 

 

4th May to 19th May 2007

We are Ed and Margaret from Newton (outside of Boston, MA, USA) and Lucy from Lexslip, Co. Kildare. Also Lucy’s husband John the 1st week, his brother Paul, Sinead and Ava and Lucy’s in laws Paul and Geraldine (Lexslip) –

Our previous experience of Ireland has been brief (Lucy’s and John’s wedding 8/06 and Jan 07). The cottage is lovely and complete in all utensils. Paddy has been very welcoming and helpful. We made several trips  - to Achill Point in Mayo and an overnight to Clare and the Burren. We also recommend Castlebar and the Museum of Country Life. There has been at least 3 rainbows  - some double. Lucy and John recommend climbing diamond hill. There is an internet café on Clifden but we found the library (more reasonable) and has three computers available and can be recommended for phone also – they are very nice in there. It is worth the trouble to master the skill of a great fire  - great for warmth and atmosphere to play cards, games and read by.

Ed, Lucy John, Gearldine and Paul enjoyed the boat trip and walk on Inisboffin on Saturday.

 

We had a wonderful time and hope to return and are happy to recommend the Ross Point Cottage to all-

Margaret * (USA)

 

26th May to 9th June 2007

What can we add? We have indeed been blessed by the position of this house and the weather. What more can we ask? What a location! Now we are going I’m not sure where the boat trips will got glimpse the basking white whale “beached” on the headland (Alastair)

Thank you for your hospitality.

Alastair and Janet and Misha (Merseryside)

 

 

23rd June to 8th July 2007

Despite two weeks of wet and windy weather we have still enjoyed ourselves. Ross Point is a magic place in any weather. We look forward to coming back in the Autumn, with some sun and blue sky even!

 

Mike and Val

 

 

9th July to 15th July 2007

Wonderful cottage in the most tranquil and unspoilt part of the country – we will be back (if we haven’t found a cottage to buy in the area!)

Many thanks Patrick & Mary.

 

David, Jamie, Patrick & Katie

 

 

14th July to 28th July 2007

Yet another return to this beautiful location. Have snorkelled, sunbathed and fished to our hearts content. Plenty of mackerel from the boat, first class put on the Bar B Que. What a place to unwind from the turmoils of everyday life. Weather has been fairly good and it makes a change to see the Irish mist falling in the UK instead of here.

We will be back

 

Lynda, Eileen, Jessica, Luke & Paddy the westie

 

 

28th July to 11th August 2007

Another wonderful time at Ross. Forty seven years of camping and cottaging. Plenty of giant mackerel from near the fish farm. Little FFions third summer here and enjoying every minute. We have already booked for next year! Thanks Patrick and Mary see you next year.

 

J & A

 

 

11th August to 25th August 2007

Following the Welton family (seeing them on route from Recess) 13 of the Biddle/Wardall and Pickup/Goasdell Party (not forgetting the two dogs!).

A fantastic time had by all enjoying mackerel suppers, homemade seafood chowder and Gravadlax – recipes from the Weltons! Family members from ages 5 – 85 enjoyed fine weather, seaside fun and trips to Roundstone and Omey Island. Many thanks to Michael Barry for lending a fine fishing vessel with Seagull (egg beating) engine!!! Cottage as substantial and comfortable as ever!

More thanks to Patrick, Mary and Sons, possibly see you all next year with an equally large group! Not all at once! Best wishes!

 

Anthony, Linda, Harry, Erica, & Andrew

Judith, Keith and Greg

Helen, Hannah and Grace

Marion, Ian

Tess and Remy

 

 

25th August to 1st September 2007

Thank you very much for our fourth stay in this lovely cottage – it has been really nicely redecorated and the dishwasher spares us the washing-up! Thank you! Weather fine – a fair amount of mist though- lots of sailing, camping, fishing and a great day out on Shane’s boat ‘Brazen Hussy’ was really good fun. Lots of mackerel still in the bay. Obviously attracting dolphins which we saw on the bay one morning!!! My first sighting in all my time here (every year of my life!! (14 years)).

So thank you very much for a great cottage again – even better with all the decorations, - lovely!! Thank you very much,

 

Dan, Camilla, Claudia, Aminta and Sabina and dogs – Giunea and Tiggy

 

 

1st September to 8th September 2007

This review is in French

 

9th September to 21st September 2007

Dolphins, hares (family living in garden) diving gannets, red breasted mergansets daily swimming, stunning views, great Guinness & Seafood (mussels to harvest on the beach at very low tide) at both Cleggan and Clifden. No traffic, no aircraft, no phones, no T.V. (if you choose) – peace & as much silence as you could wish for. May it stay this way for as long as possible although parts of Connemara look like they might be getting a bit of a building boom!

Thanks Patrick - back next year we hope

Jan & Nick Ben****** Chester

 

Sept 21st October 1st 2007

Our third stay in this lovely location and the weather has been absolutely fantastic - so warm and sunny the last 2 days we had shorts on! Thank you Patrick and family for letting us stay in their home again – we all hope to return again

Kate & Jan B - Oxford

Father (now 80) & Niece Vicki – Leicester

Kev from Strabane & Spud Ipswich (his first time)

 

1st October to 10th October 2007

We have been on seven trips to Ireland and this has been our favourite spot so far – the views are wonderful, the peace and quite something we don’t get in Connecticut. The best part is the darkness so we can see so many stars at night - again, something we can’t get at home due to all the lights on the east coast of the US

 

Erik and Nancy ****

Danbury, Connecticut

 

15th March to 25th March 2008

Our first visit to Ross Point (Cleggan a couple of years ago) thanks for letting us borrow your fine cottage with awesome views. Enjoyed the views, private beach, peat fire, the newborn lambs (cuddling) the calves, trying to fish, meeting Patrick and having long chats with him, the amazing location, quite remote and peaceful. For March weather was ok really – you take your chance – maybe 50/50. I come to Ireland 2 or 3 times a year (for the past 45 years) and hope to return here someday. Visit Connemara National Park for a walk; Oliver’s in Cleggan – for great seafood; Bards Den Letterfrack for huge burgers – some god pubs in Letterfrack too (Veldons nice) & Pangur Ban for superb steaks. Chill out and enjoy –

 

The Bro*****

Tony, Chantelle, Caleb!! Izook J Nottingham

 

5th April to 18th April 2008

Many thanks Patrick and Mary for the cottage - it’s been a blissful time and we’ve had a lovely time reconnecting with Connemara. It was good to catch up with you again, Patrick after what we reckon, 41 years?! We very much hope we’ll see you again before too long.

 

This is my second trip to Ireland and I have really enjoyed it! The views from the cottage are amazing! The house is fantastic and the painting and other decorations really add to it. It was a real bonus to come here in the spring because there are baby lambs which are so cute!

 

This is my third trip to Ireland and this has been the best holiday cottage so far. The baby lambs were so sweet and to be able to hold them was a bonus. Thank you very much and hop to come again.

 

This has been a fantastic time in a beautiful cottage. The views are incredible and the cottage really comfortable. I can’t wait to come again as soon as possible!

 

The cottage is beautiful and has such wonderful views. The animals were lovely and so adorable. It was such an amazing holiday. I can’t wait to come back. Thank you for making it so comfortable.

 

* Family

 

18th April to 3rd May 2008

There’s so much to write about at this late hour – but I had to say a big thank you for a wonderful time Patrick in your cottage set in the most beautiful location – it’s been ‘peace-ful’, ‘awe inspiring’ and I feel grateful for this time and live that bit more deeply in nature. Our time was crowned last night by seeing 5 or 6 dolphins outside the cottage … (more of review to follow soon)

 

3rd May to 24th May 2008

What a location! Peace, tranquillity, stunning views and a private beach just on your doorstep. Lots of sunshine, really, really warm weather, some sunburn even and just two rainy days. Lovely people, lovely cottage. What more can you ask for? As we know this part of the country quite well we had no problems cancelling all the sight-seeing because we just couldn’t leave this idyllic place too often. We’d love to stay for another week and another and another . . .  But we’ll be back again. Thank you so much Mary & Patrick for your kindness!

 

***** Austria

 

24th May to 31st May 2008

What can I say as I sit here watching the final throes of light lose the battle to darkness over Tully mountain? Our final night, we’ve watched our footprints in the sand yield to the incoming tide – poignant. We’ll leave most reluctantly, but even more determined to return to this haven. Is there really that ‘other world’ out there? It seems that we have forgotten that, for a week, at least. It’s like this place has warped time and space re-awakened. A week is not long enough!! My wife Siân, a keen photographer has been led a merry dance by the Irish hares!! Contrary to another visitor’s observation, they do not live around the garden, but up on the bank behind the lane. You’ll discover this for yourselves if you care to rise from your bed around 5 am (Siân has done every day!!) They come down top the headland by the cottage, munch a bit of sea turifs, move on to the seaweed, use the garden as a toilet, then onto the beach for a bit of play and general hare lunacy! We have the photos and video to prove it! 

And then, of course, there are the dolphin (3 we saw), like our own private fly-past (or swim past) and Oystercatchers, the Comorants, the Mallard families teaching their youngsters the art of 5 minute diving. Oh I could go on.. Its going to be two weeks next time for sure!!

As-to Patrick, God only knows what he thought of us! For when he appeared down the track , this evening to find my good self running around the beach in my underpants in one last dash at some sort of crazy freedom!!!!

When he [Patrick] discovered that Sian’s father is a retired West Walian famer, he promptly gave us a guided tour of his sheep and cattle and also of the remains of a megalithic tomb on his land and that of a beautiful white quartz standing stone. Perhaps he won’t thank me for sharing that with you so I’d better point that he charged us €50 for the privilege!! (Only joking!)

Well he didn’t have to do that for us, and we thought that it was very kind thing to do from a very kind man!

So, we pass on the place to you, the next lucky people. You’ve arrived at heaven on earth. God bless to Patrick and Mary, thank you.

Gil, Siân, Mel and Anne – Newcastle Emlyn, West Wales

 

31st May to 7th June 2008

Our first visit to Connemara and Ross Point Cottage, and hopefully, many more to follow an absolutely stunning location and well appointed cottage. A week is certainly not long enough. Two weeks next time!. Must mention Mitchell’s Restaurant in Clifden for fabulous food, merited two visits!

Thank you Patrick and Mary for the opportunity to visit heaven on earth.

The ***ell Family - Colin Patricia, Catherine & Caroline, Dilly Dog & Wilma Dog Liversedge, West Yorks

 

21st June to 5th July 2008

It’s 7.30 am Monday morning and as I stood looking across the bay waiting for the kettle to boil the hare peeped through the gate. We also saw pygmy shrew? Yesterday, and heard a cuckoo yesterday morning. The stillness is so healing, even the sea is like softly rippled glass this morning, but wait something has just disturbed its smooth surface! I’ll go in the hoop of a dolphin. C.

 

5th July to 12th July 2008

There are lots of things I love about this house but it would take too long to write it all down. My favourite thing is sitting on the couch looking out at the water when my three boys Stephen (10), Conor (8) and Shane (5) are gone to bed. Another big plus is that the boys can go swimming whenever they want without having yo load up the car with swim wear, towels, body boards, change of clothes, drink, food etc. plus the car doesn’t get filled with sand. However I would advise anyone with children to make a trip to the beach in Ballyconneely Golf Club. Long strands of lovely white sand.

 

12th July to 2nd August 2008

Our sixth visit to Ross point Cottage and again a brilliant holiday. You’re always surprised by the quietness and tranquillity of this place. The views are ever changing and never cease to amaze.

Herons, oystercathers, curlews, robins, hares, garnets, guillenots, cornarants, terns, and ‘the seal’ can all be seen from the house.

The fishing has been great with ample supplies of mackerel and pollack.

Great food at Olivers Cleggan, the butcher in Letterfrack is first class.

We spent the first week just the four of us plus ‘Paddy’ the puppy (who is now actually 13!). the second week we had some friends stop for a few days. They were totally captivated by the place. Our final week saw the arrival of the eldest children who drove themselves over from wellis (how time flies) and Nana 84!

Sorry to be leaving thanks Patrick.

Lynda, Eillen, Karen, Sarah, Jessica, Luke, Nana & Paddy.

 

2nd August to 17th August 2008

Yet another wonderful family holiday her for the W*’s and T, R cousins. Fishing good with plenty of crabs for supper. Weather not good but it didn’t deter us from getting out and enjoying ourselves. We managed a good hill walk from Kylemore – the Maolan Horseshoe – taking in three peaks. Cnoc Breac, Binn Bhreac and Maolan . another day we walked up Tully Mountain. The canoes were out most days on the sea and there was always a day to be found for wind-surfing, surfing and water skiing. Thank you once again to Patrick and Mary. We are looking forward to seeing you next year.

All best wishes – A & J.

 

16th August to 23rd August 2008

After a terrible start to the week, weather-wise, with torrential rain for several days (even Patrick told us he’d never seem it this bad in his lifetime!), the sun has finally come out and revealed the true magic of this special place. I’m writing this at the picnic table in the garden with the sun warm on my back, listening to the kids laughing on the beach – they have loved it here so much, this view will stay with me forever.

We’ve seen the dolphins twice (in the bad weather – do they come here for shelter?), the hares, all sorts of seabirds, a hobby (bird of prey) in the field by the gate – a wildlife paradise.  I’ve enjoyed reading other guests comments here – so here are ours – Mitchell’s and Olivers both good restaurants but worth going for the early bird menu (before 6pm or 6.30pm) – much cheaper and food delicious.  The peat fire has been great (yes, middle of August , I know!)  and sadly necessary – top tip from my husband – when sticks and firelighters failed, use a tea light – works a treat!

This is an incredible location – many thanks to Patrick and Mary from the C*** family

 

14th August to 20th August 2008

Great start to the week enabling us to climb/conquer Maumturk Mountains – fantastic views, hanging lake (swam in) weather closed in forcing low level activities – Omey sands/inland, hidden Church, quick dip on return, dinner in Clifden & Irish dancing. Gourmet week- power breakfast, lobsters, friendly neighbours, fantastic views – another world! Fantastic cottage.

See you next year

Mike, Tony, Francis, Jo

 

23rd August to 30th August 2008

It drizzled all week but the comfort and setting of the cottage provided consolation.  We saw the hares floating around the grounds.

I managed to swim every morning at high tide the cove of the beach is sufficient.  One morning I found myself in the company of a seal! I swam out to the fish farm at low tide though was cautioned by Patrick not to try to swim not to swim right across the bay due to the current  ? the bay due to the ? layout the fish farm.

We had a sunny afternoon in Galway and took an overnight trip to visit Lidsadell in Sligo and stayed at the Markem Castle – visiting the Country Museum at Turlough en route.

We also had an enjoyable visit to Renvyle Hotel for a drink and snack.  We found Letterfrack good for shopping had a good meal there at Veldons.  We had lunch in Roundstone one day and a drive around Cashel and Carna.  In all we had a good and relaxing time.  I’d love to stay here when the sun is shining.

Rachel, Lorraine, Aoife and Dermot

PS Aoife reminded us of how much she + Lorcan enjoyed the horse riding at Errislannan – good ponies for small children

 

20th September to 26th September 2008
Having read so many reviews about Ross Cottage I just had to see it for myself. I thought perhaps I would be the unlucky one not to witness the hares playing on the beach and the dolphins swimming by….. but I got lucky this morning (day 3), and saw both! 3 dolphins swam past in the sea opposite the living room window. They swam up and then went back down out to sea. They were more on the opposite side but we could see them clearly with our binoculars. It was a wonderful sight! It was about 9.20 am. The weather was amazing and the sea very calm, which is probably why we could see them. As for the 7 or 8 hares… you need to be up at the crack of dawn to see them but be very quiet or they will scarper up hills on the left side of the track. The bird life is amazing; bring a bird book if you can so they can be identified! Thos has got to be the most peaceful place ever and as close to nature as you will ever get. The cottage itself is very spacious and the open fire really adds to the ambiance! Be sure to bring fire lighters and kindling though! The turf is supplied free of charge and perfectly stacked up against the shed, so easily accessible. Once here, it is hard to stay away from the windows – almost every one has an amazing view and always different boat of bird going past. We still have 4 days left of this magical place and I know that I will definitely return. So glad I found it.

Siobhan & Phil – Co. Kildare Ireland

 

27th September to 4th October 2008

Had a lovely time staying at Ross Point Cottage. Had some wet days but on the whole the weather wasn’t too bad. Gregory went Scuba Diving on day one and thought it was wonderful experience not to be missed. Another highlight was our trip on Killary Harbour, it is a beautiful place. We spent the rest of our time exploring the wonderful Connemara landscape. A visit to the National Park is another must – wonderful walks.
We enjoyed a wonderful meal in Fogarty's in Clifden, the early bird menu is extremely good value. The Derryclare Restaurant is also worth a visit.  

Gregory, Mary, Joshua & James * from Donegal, Ireland

 

14th February to 21 February 2009
A review from a one of our French guests

14th February to 21st February 2009
What an amazing place, amazing week – its all been said before … but it truly is a wonderful place. The weather was so kind to us, not a drop of rain, mild and sunny on a couple of days. We enjoyed paddling on the beautiful beaches around Tully Cross and making a camp fire on the beach next to the strand. The cottage was lovely and homely and the peat fire in the evenings, made it a perfect winder location… it’s a week we’ll never forget and moreover will recommend to all. Thank you to all you Irish people for being so lovely and to Patrick and Mary for letting us stay in this little wonderland.

Natasha, Martel, Ciel (9) and Hugs (4) *, Kent, UK


7th March to 14th March 2009
We had a wonderful time in this beautiful cottage, and the location is so scenic and peaceful. The weather wasn’t great, but we did get one good day. Our highlight was the trek to the top of Diamond Hill in Connemara National Park. The views from there were amazing. Definitely worth doing. Many thanks to Patrick for his kind hospitality and help. Without doubt, we will return as this is the most perfect place to relax and unwind, and to enjoy nature. And of course, my partner Olya made two new friends here with “Champ” the sheepdog. She loved the cattle and sheep too.

John (Kildare, Ireland) & Olya (Ukraine) 

 

4th April to 17th April 2009
I had a wonderful time in the cottage enjoying the rare views because its not every day you get to look out your sitting room window and see the mountain Letter and the sea all in one go!
Another fabulous Easter holidays in Ross Point Cottage. Lovely lambs calves etc and of course the fantastic views and relaxation. Can’t wait till next year’s visit
Lovely break with reasonable weather for April. Visited the gardens at Kylemore for the first time and can recommend them – just hope they can keep up the momentum on the retention of the glass houses. Thank you Patrick and Mary.

I had a great fun exploring the beaches and rare animals. I loved watching the lambs growing up and the cows and there beautiful calfs. I have had yet again a lovely holiday in Ross Point. I look forward to coming next year. Thanks again.

The cottage was amazing and the idyllic views make the cottage truly beautiful. The baby lambs are charming. It was a lovely visit; I’m looking forward to next year!

* Family, East Mein, England, UK

 

18th April to 25th April 2009
Loved our stay. See summer 2006 pages for description.

Kelly & Erin

6th June to 13th June 2009
Words can’t describe so I am not going to try. We have been blessed with lovely weather and an absolutely stunning location. Now I know why Ross Point Cottage is so booked up. Thank you.

Jane, Derek, Cram, & Trudy (the dog) Lincolnshire, UK

 

11th June to 18th June 2009
Some of us had been to Connemara before, others hadn’t but all of us were taken and our breath lost to the stunning views, addictive landscape and magnificent wilderness that could be seen from the top of ‘hills’ (more like mountains for us coming from flatter Dublin) and the cottage’s windows and garden. To have breakfast or dinner while lapping up the greenness, the ruggedness and the barrenness of this gem of our emerald Isle was a luxury; even when the midgies chose to dine with us. Never before have I understood quite so clearly the phrase of how the water laps the shore, the waves lick the sand but the beach down below, when the tide is out, taught me. I’ve swam in ? seas and yet the colours of jelly fish I witnessed here was spectacular. Standing quietly in sea we saw fish dancing out of water. Unfortunately dolphins never visited us, or at least we weren’t lucky enough to see them, but to know they were around, had been seen before, and were just hidden was magical. The sheep on the far field provided a nice morning welcome each day while hares spotted on the laneway up the hill and indeed on many other laneways and fields lifted our spirits to tackle the Irish weather and all its surprises (is isn’t known as a sunny climate) with much optimism. We, or at least I couldn’t have come away with more appreciation or love for this secret, abandoned garden of Eire, the sea was calm, it was rough; it poured and the sky was clear, we got bitten and burnt, we got wet and soapy (plastic sheet as a slide) but overall I think we can honestly say we’ve had an amazing stay at Ross Point Cottage and would love to visit again. Thanks,

Aislinn, Sinead, Barbara, Geraldine, Saóirse, Caoimhe, Ainée, * & Dogs

 

19th July to 1st August 2009
Patrick & Mary, thank you once again for another very special two weeks in Connemara. In particular your help and friendliness together with your lightning responses to any trivial request was so much appreciated. We look forward to our next visit very much indeed.
With all our best wishes,

Dan & Camilla *
 

5th September to 19th September 2009
The weather was the best yet! Much to out surprise coming later than usual. We had another fantastic 2 weeks – kayak expeditions, mackerel fishing, swimming and sunning ourselves. The little hard visited us regularly and also the heron. We saw the seal too, keeping an eye on us as we paddled – and also two dolphins/porpoises.

Many thanks to Patrick and Mary.

Linda and Anthony * and the mother too!

 

26th November to 1st December 2009

Ross Point Cottage is a little piece of ‘heaven’. The world just stops here, doesn’t it? Barely a sound only the “ticking of the clock”. Thank you so much for the most relaxing few days, we have ever spent!!

* & *

* Co. Tipperary
P.s. Give us a shout if these people who have this beautiful cottage booked for Christmas ‘pull out’ for any reason.

 

3rd December to 6th December 2009
What a wonderful few days we had in this lovely holiday home. The cottage is very well equipped comfortable and homely, the location stunning. Only think missing is the constant good weather!!

We thank you.

O’Connor Family, Co. Kildare

 

19th December 2009 to 2nd December 2010
Today is St. Stevens Day and it rains like the other two days before. The view outside the windows is beautiful. The hills look very nice and their tops are white from snow. The temperature outside is about zero. The wind is very extreme but after lunch you can go outside and walk to the beach where you can see dolphins. This is a beautiful place. Ross Point Cottage is a nice place to relax. Clifden is 30 minutes away and a very nice city. After breakfast you can sit in the living room in front of the fire and you can watch TV, play cards or read a book. Altogether Ross Point Cottage is a nice place where you can stay for holidays.

Uwe, Marlies, Jens, Nils, Janine from Germany

 

5th February to 9th February 2010

We arrived in the dark, and though we managed to find a track down to the cottage, we didn’t realise how close we were and ended up calling Pat to come and guide us down to the house.
The next day was a gem – blue skies all around! So we went up Tully Mountain and were duly rewarded with the best views ever!
The rest of the weekend was spent vegging out at the house interspersed with visits to Letterfrack for music (the Taréis na Féile Bríde Festival) and to Leenane for food and beer.

The location of the house is just about perfect if you like mountains and sea. From the garden you can see Tully (Letter Hill) Mountain, Maol Reidh, Benchoona, Doughruagh, Diamond Hill and the bens. We spotted one seal off the rocks.

There is a bit of a knack to getting the turf fire going, but having a good blast of dry kindling and some fire lighters really helps! Peat Briquettes are also a good idea.

We intend to be back again soon!
Paul, Orghlaith & Tom from Cork Ireland